Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the administration, development, and supervision
of PGS business activities.

Walter Kvam

Walter Qvam 
Chairperson (Elected 2016)
Board Member since 2013
Remuneration and Corporate Governance Committee Chairperson
Shareholding: 35 000

Mr. Qvam was previously the President and CEO of Kongsberg Group ASA, and he has held leading positions in various prominent Norwegian and international businesses in a variety of fields, including oil & gas and shipping, (DNV; Det Norske Veritas), IT (Capgemini), transportation (the Norwegian State Railway) and consultancy (Gemini Consulting). In addition to his role as Chairperson of PGS, Mr. Qvam is also the Chairperson of the Council of Stiftelsen Det Norske Veritas and the Chairperson of the Board of the research organization SINTEF, the cybersecurity specialists "mnemonic" and the mobility start-up "wheel me". Mr. Qvam graduated Master of Science (M.Sc.) from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

Anne Grethe DalaneAnne Grethe Dalane
Vice Chairperson (Elected 2018)
Board Member since 2013
Audit Committee Chairperson
Shareholding: 18 000

Ms. Dalane is a Senior Executive at Yara International and previously held numerous senior positions at Norsk Hydro. She is currently Chief Financial Officer Crop Nutrition at Yara International. Her previous experience covers a range of fields including HR as well as oil and gas. She has been Region Director Latin America and Country Manager of Argentina. She serves as a Director of BW LPG. Ms. Dalane’s background is in economics and she holds a business degree from the Norwegian School of Economics NHH.

 Richard HerbertRichard Herbert
Board member since 2017
Audit Committee Member
Shareholding: 9 500

Mr. Herbert is a petroleum geologist with 40 years of experience in the global upstream industry. His career started with Phillips Petroleum. He spent 19 years at BP, in senior international exploration and development positions in southeast Asia, Latin America, the USA, and Angola, as well as the UK North Sea. From 2003-2008 he worked for TNK-BP in Russia, as Exploration Vice-President and subsequently as Executive Vice President of Technology. From 2009-13, he was Exploration Vice President of Talisman Energy in Canada. He returned to BP from 2013 until the end of 2016, as Chief Operating Officer, Exploration. In 2017, he joined the Board of Frontera Energy Corporation, then from 2018 until March 2021 became their CEO, based in Bogota, Colombia. Richard Herbert holds a BSc in Geology from the University of Bristol in the UK.

Marianne KahMarianne Kah
Board member since 2018
Audit Committee Member
Shareholding: 28 589

Ms. Kah was the Chief Economist of ConocoPhillips for 25 years retiring in November 2017. She was a member of the strategy committee of ConocoPhillips and was responsible for oil and gas market outlooks, scenario planning, and assessing disruptive risks to the company. She was also involved with planning and participating in strategy meetings with ConocoPhillips’ Board of Directors. She currently serves on the Advisory Board of the University of Texas Energy Institute, and she is an adjunct senior research scholar and member of the Advisory Board of Columbia University’s Center on Global Energy Policy. In 2019, Kah joined the Board of Directors in Allegheny Technologies Inc. She was past president of the U.S. Association for Energy Economics for the calendar year 2019, and currently co-chairs the Energy Roundtable for the National Association for Business Economics.

Trond BrandsrudTrond Brandsrud
Board Member since 2019
Remuneration and Corporate Governance Committee Member
Shareholding: 35 000

Mr. Brandsrud is a board member and non-executive director of several listed and private-equity-owned companies. These include Aker BP, where he chairs the audit and risk committee, and Lowell, where he serves as a member of the audit and remuneration committees. Brandsrud has 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry. He has served as Group CFO at both Aker and Seadrill, and has held a wide range of senior financial positions in Royal Dutch Shell. Recently, he has also held group CFO and CEO positions in privately-owned companies Lindorff and Lowell, in the financial services sector. Trond Brandsrud is a Norwegian citizen and holds a master’s degree from the Norwegian School of Economics (NHH).

Employee Elected Ordinary Board Members  

Anette ValbøAnette Valbø
Employee Elected Board member since 2015
Audit Committee Member
Shareholding: 7 142

Ms. Valbø joined PGS in 2002. Her current position is Bid Manager. She has previously held various Business Controller positions within Marine Contract and Operations business area. Prior to joining the Company, Ms. Valbø served in various positions within auditing and accounting in Frontline Ltd. and DNB. Ms. Valbø holds a bachelor's degree in accounting and auditing from Molde University College, Norway.


Hege RenshusHege Renshus
Employee Elected Board member since 2017 
Audit Committee Member
Shareholding: 1 918

Ms. Renshus is a Senior Navigation Specialist in PGS. She joined PGS in 1995, initially working offshore as a seismic navigator and subsequently in the Oslo office, in various technical and management positions. Ms. Renshus holds an M.Sc. in Engineering from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.


Grunde RønholtGrunde Rønholt

Employee Elected Board member since 2019 
Remuneration and Corporate Governance Committee Member
Shareholding: 45 000

Mr. Rønholt joined PGS in 2011 to work with advanced imaging technology. He is currently Area Manager for Imaging Operations, based in Oslo. He has worked with seismic imaging and processing services for more than 20 years, first with multi-component data at READ Well Services, and later with towed-streamer data at CGG. Grunde holds an M.Sc. in Geology from the University of Tromsø.